Tchaikovsky and Dvorák

Thu 29 Oct 7:30pm at Symphony Hall

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin

Janáček Taras Bulba
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No 7

Style and authenticity just ooze from the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. Dvořák himself conducted this orchestra’s first concert and the highlight of tonight’s programme is his grandly tragic Seventh Symphony. Superstar of the violin, Nicola Benedetti, is a regular visitor to Symphony Hall and joins the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s heart-warming Violin Concerto.

Review by Maggie Cotton, Birmingham Post:

“Impeccable woodwind, exquisite flute solo and careful accompanying from conductor Jakub Hrusa were perfect partners for muted violin, leading to a formidable finale taken at a spanking pace… 4/5”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s