Biss Plays Mozart

Wednesday 16 December 2009 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

Robert Spano  conductor
Jonathan Biss  piano

Tiensuu: False Memories (UK premiere) 16′
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9, K271 31′
Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 42′ Listen
requires Real Player

This young American pianist has already built a formidable reputation for his accounts of classical and early romantic music; here he plays what Brendel calls ‘one of the greatest wonders of the world’, a miraculous product of the 21-year old Mozart. Sibelius’s sweeping, passionate symphony has long been a Birmingham favourite, and Spano also introduces a work by one of the finest of the current amazing generation of Finnish composers.

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

“..It works in short-breathed bursts of energy, with a central movement of slithery hypnosis, and the CBSO players responded with gutsy fire under the persuasive baton of Roberto Spano.” …

Review by Hilary Finch, The Times:

…”After a fierce and jazzy opening called, alluringly, Review, Tiensuu creates two even more disturbing movements. Nostalgy seems to conjure the nostalgia of a chill winter fog for the heat haze of summer. Piercingly high resonances of bowed cymbals, crotales and vibraphone fuse with frozen chords and the microtones of slippery, sliding string parts, frequently played out of phase. Trauma teases ear and nerves still further, with its trilling flutes, trembling strings and gong — and, again, with an unsettling yet seductive feeling of something recalled, but just out of reach, lapsed in time.” …

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s