Takács Quartet

Birmingham International Concert Season 2010/11

Thu 11 Nov 7:30pm at Town Hall

Haydn String Quartet, Op 74, No 3 18’
Shostakovich String Quartet No 2 33’
Schubert String Quartet, Death and the Maiden 40’

 Generally regarded as Europe’s pre-eminent string quartet, the Takács return to Town Hall with quartets by Haydn and Shostakovich alongside Schubert’s gravely beautiful Death and the Maiden Quartet. ‘This is chamber-music playing of overwhelming intensity, insight and intelligence, simply the best I have ever heard in concert’, wrote the critic of The Guardian recently.

BBC Music magazine’s Editor Oliver Condy explains why he has recommended tonight’s concert:
“The Takács Quartet were the first ever winners of the BBC Music magazine’s Disc of the Year award back in 2006. I’ve since seen them live several times and have never yet failed to be entranced by their ability to breathe new life to into well-worn masterpieces.”

Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:


…”The Takács Quartet used a wide dynamic range and their grip on the audience was as firm as their grip on the music. This was a magnificent performance which combined intense concentration with rhetorical flair.”…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s