Ballets Russes

Thursday 14 April 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons conductor
CBSO Chorus

Stravinsky: Petrushka 34′
Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé 50′

Sergei Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes launched twentieth-century art in a blaze of energy. As part of the CBSO’s ten-year 2020 project, we celebrate that astonishing moment with two of the revolutionary scores that Diaghilev commissioned from the most brilliant composers of the age. Stravinsky’s Petrushka tells a fantastic story of love and death amidst the marionettes at Russian spring fair; Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé, meanwhile, is a love story of Ancient Greece, set to some of the most sensuous music ever written for the stage. It’s rarely heard in its entirety, and almost never in an acoustic as perfect as Symphony Hall. Prepare to be dazzled.

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

…     “Tattooing drums welded the scenes together (the phalanx of percussionists playing like a one-man drumkit), cornets and trumpets deployed both showmanship and sinister supernaturalism, solo woodwind evoked magic, and concertmaster Laurence Jackson added piquant violin solos.

This was a wonderfully colourful account of a score which demands so much in terms of melodic cell-nurturing and rhythmic cohesion.”   …..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s