Russian Classics

Saturday 14 May 2011 at 7.00pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andrew Litton conductor
Simon Trpceski piano

Prokofiev: War and Peace – Overture 6′
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 2 32′ Listen
requires Real Player
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 50′

The Soviet censors called it an “optimistic tragedy”. Shostakovich simply called it his Tenth Symphony. Dark, deeply emotional, packed with secret messages and featuring at its heart a terrifying musical portrait of Stalin himself, Shostakovich’s Tenth is certainly one of the most powerful of all 20th-century symphonies. Regular guest conductor Andrew Litton guides the CBSO through its dark corridors – and joins the dazzling young Macedonian virtuoso Simon Trpceski in another emotional epic, from a very different Russia. You might still think of Rachmaninov’s Second as the Brief Encounter concerto, but with Trpceski at the keyboard, prepare to hear it with new ears.

Review by Elmley de la Cour, Birmingham Post:

…     “Litton doesn’t sugar-coat his demands and the CBSO responded with great flexibility, shaping the first movement’s giant crescendo into a terrifying, muscular climax.

A mesmerising account of the savage allegro followed. It would be hard to imagine how this could have been any better.”     …