Tragedy and Triumph

Wednesday 1 June 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano

Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini 24′
Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 2 28′
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 44′

The horns blast out a savage fanfare; the trumpets scream in reply…and you know this isn’t going to be any ordinary symphony. It’s Tchaikovsky’s Fourth, the no-holds-barred emotional autobiography in which one of the most troubled – but inspired – composers of all time wrestles publicly with his personal demons in music of startling rawness and power. The reason? Well, maybe his tone-poem Francesca da Rimini offers a clue – a tale of forbidden love and desperate torment, set to some of even Tchaikovsky’s most passionate music.

Please note Mihaela Ursuleasa has withdrawn from this concert and we are grateful to Jean-Efflam Bavouzet who has kindly agreed to take her place at short notice.

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s encore – Ravel –

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

…     “This was an urgent, gripping reading, and so was Nelsons’ account of Tchaikovsky’s tremendous Fourth Symphony, brilliantly responsive to its structure, ebbing and flowing in emotional intensity, and a tribute all the time to the immense trust and love between conductor and orchestra.”     …