The Year 1911: Elgar’s Second Symphony

Saturday 22 October 2011 at 7.00pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

 City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Michael Seal  conductor
Nareh Arghamanyan  piano

Rachmaninov: Vocalise 6′ 
Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini 23′ Listen on Spotify 
Elgar: Symphony No. 2 54′ 

Nareh Arghamanyan’s encore –

Please note that due to recent unavoidable changes in previously advertised conductor Vassily Sinaisky’s schedule at the Bolshoi Theatre, where he is Music Director, he is now sadly unable to conduct these concerts. He looks forward to returning to the CBSO next season. We are very grateful to our Associate Conductor Michael Seal for agreeing to step in at short notice.

Elgar claimed that his Second Symphony mourned the death of a King – but it’s a lot more personal than that. From majestic opening to sunset finish, Elgar’s Second is one of romantic music’s great emotional voyages. Expect glittering playing from the young Armenian virtuoso Nareh Arghamanyan in the ever-popular, super-romantic Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

To listen to some of the music in this concert, and explore the rest of the season, using our Spotify playlists, click here.

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

…..     “But in the second half of the evening things decidedly improved, Seal wisely presiding over an account of Elgar’s magnificent Second Symphony which allowed this expertly-scored music to speak for itself.

There were passages which genuinely moved, such as the sad stillness at the heart of the opening movement, and the Tristan-esque ending of the entire work.”     …