Pictures at an Exhibition

Thursday 27 October 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

 City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor
Alisa Weilerstein cello

Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé Suite 19′
Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor 40′
Mussorgsky (orch. Ravel): Pictures at an Exhibition 30′ Listen on Spotify

Alisa Weilerstein’s encore – Bourrée from Bach’s Cello Suite No.3 in C

When Ravel arranged Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition for orchestra, he created one of the few adaptations that’s better than the original. From its opening Promenade to the majestic final Great Gate of Kiev, it’s one of the true orchestral showpieces, a glittering jewel-box crammed with unforgettable images. And Prokofiev’s cheeky Lieutenant Kijé suite is every bit as much fun! The young Finnish star Santtu-Matias Rouvali makes his Birmingham debut, and cellist Alisa Weilerstein celebrates her return to Birmingham with Dvorák’s impassioned Cello Concerto. 

To listen to some of the music in this concert, and explore the rest of the season, using our Spotify playlists, click here.

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

…     “And this world-class orchestra rewarded him with well-turned accounts of Lieutenant Kije, Prokofiev’s cleverest if emptiest score, and Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition in Ravel’s ineffable orchestration (do we really need any other?).”     …

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s