Autumn Sunshine

ThumbnailWednesday 2 November 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons conductor
Baiba Skride violin

Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Haydn 19′
Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major 24′
Dvořák: Symphony No. 6 41′

Everyone loves Dvorák’s New World Symphony – but if that’s the only Dvorák symphony you know, you’re in for a wonderful surprise. His Sixth must be one of the happiest symphonies ever written – a glowing Bohemian landscape filled with lilting tunes, stirring trumpets and gentle poetry. Andris Nelsons gives it the deluxe treatment. First, though, comes a spirited tribute to a bygone age by Dvorák’s great friend Brahms, and a welcome return for the enchanting young Latvian violinist Baiba Skride, in Mozart’s fresh-as-a-daisy Fourth Concerto.

This concert is being broadcast by BBC Radio 3

Birmingham Post article about Baiba Skride, by Christopher Morley:

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

…     “On either side came works by composers who were great friends and mutual admirers. Brahms’ Variations on a Theme by Haydn was given with an appreciative awareness of its many-faceted timbres and moods, its tracery and interweaving spanning delicately bouncy bass lines and delicate wind tones.

This account could well be my highlight of the year.

Dvorak’s delicious Symphony no.6 was springy, exultant, its paeans to Nature so spontaneously sculpted by Nelsons.”     … cont…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s