A First for Brahms

Saturday 4 February 2012 at 7.00pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andrés Orozco-Estrada  conductor
Akiko Suwanai  violin

Kodály: Dances of Galánta 15′ Listen on Spotify 
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto 34′ Listen on Spotify 
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 45′ 

They called it “Beethoven’s Tenth”, but when you hear the glorious melody that crowns Brahms’s First Symphony, you’ll know that it could only be by one man. That’ll be the stirring finish to this Birmingham debut from the acclaimed young Colombian maestro Andrés Orozco- Estrada, who’s made a major splash in Vienna. First, though, enjoy the gorgeous tunes and show-stopping fireworks of Tchaikovsky’s much-loved Violin Concerto. The superb Japanese virtuoso Akiko Suwanai makes an eagerly-awaited return to Birmingham.

To listen to some of the music in this concert, and explore the rest of the season, using our Spotify playlists, click here.


Review by Maggie Cotton, Birmingham Post (for matinee concert which had Beethoven’s Egmont Overture instead of Kodály)

Click here for full review

…    “Originally deemed impossible to play, Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto held no problems for this violinist, the youngest-ever winner of the international Tchaikovsky Competition.

Intonation was not always perfect, but then this was a performance not a test; a joy to hear with splendid orchestral support: wonderful double-stoppings, sparks flying in passionate interchanges, heart-stopping pianissimos with woodwind and horns. A riveting performance.”     …


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s