Leningrad Symphony 70th Anniversary

The St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra:

Leningrad Symphony 70th Anniversary

Part of Rebellion and Resistance… more events…

Part of Birmingham International Concert Season 2012/13… more events…

Tuesday 2nd October 2012

Symphony Hall

The St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra
Brass players of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Dmitriev conductor
Peter Donohoe piano

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 3 in D minor 39’
Shostakovich Symphony No 7, Leningrad 69’

6.15pm Pre-concert talk by Stephen Johnson

Peter Donohoe’s encore – Rachmaninov – Opus 23 Prelude

St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra encores –  

Rachmaninov – Vocalise;  Excerpts from Ballet Ramonde by Glasunov

Distinguished musicians from St Petersburg (Leningrad) are joined by members of the CBSO to mark 70 years since the heroic Leningrad premiere of Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony in August 1942. That performance was relayed over public loudspeakers to the starving inhabitants of a city besieged by Nazi forces, and was an event of huge symbolic importance in Russian history.

Oliver Condy, Editor of BBC Music Magazine, explains why he has recommended tonight’s concert:

“Here’s a wonderful opportunity to experience Shostakovich’s most poignant symphony commemorating the victims of the Second World War, one that quickly became an internationally popular symbol of resistance to totalitarianism.”




Review by Diane Parkes, BehindTheArras:

Click here for full review

…     “With its notes of better times, its military-sounding drums and its crashing cymbals, the music echoes the experience of Leningrad’s devastating hardships. But its melodious woodwinds and gentle strings also take a listener beyond the immediate horrors faced by those within the city.

And then finally, a crescendo of brass and percussion recreates a mind-set of a people so resolute their refusal to surrender has gone down as one of history’s great battles.

Seventy years on, the work has lost none of its power. It may be performed well out of its original context today but it nevertheless reminds us of the indomitable human spirit.”     …

Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Tuesday 2 October 2012 at 2.15pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0603

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Nicholas Collon conductor
Francesco Piemontesi piano

Berlioz: Beatrice and Benedict – Overture 8′
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20, K.466 30′
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 (From the New World) 40′ Listen on Spotify

Francesco Piemontesi’s Encore – slow movement of Schubert’s Sonata in A major D664

As the inspiration behind London’s award-winning Aurora Orchestra, the young British conductor Nicholas Collon has thrown aside convention and let fresh air in on the capital’s music scene. Making his CBSO debut today, he’s the ideal partner for the inspirational Italian pianist Francesco Piemontesi in Mozart’s powerful 20th Piano Concerto – and just the man to bring new life to Dvorák’s ever-popular New World Symphony. Berlioz’s playful Overture is the perfect appetiser, full of love and laughter.