Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Tuesday 2 October 2012 at 2.15pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0603

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Nicholas Collon conductor
Francesco Piemontesi piano

Berlioz: Beatrice and Benedict – Overture 8′
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20, K.466 30′
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 (From the New World) 40′ Listen on Spotify

Francesco Piemontesi’s Encore – slow movement of Schubert’s Sonata in A major D664

As the inspiration behind London’s award-winning Aurora Orchestra, the young British conductor Nicholas Collon has thrown aside convention and let fresh air in on the capital’s music scene. Making his CBSO debut today, he’s the ideal partner for the inspirational Italian pianist Francesco Piemontesi in Mozart’s powerful 20th Piano Concerto – and just the man to bring new life to Dvorák’s ever-popular New World Symphony. Berlioz’s playful Overture is the perfect appetiser, full of love and laughter.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s