Nelsons Conducts Brahms’ Fourth

  • Thumbnail     Pure Emotion

Wednesday 6 November 2013 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons  conductor

Valeriy Sokolov  violin

Wagner: Lohengrin – Prelude to Act 1 9′

Sibelius: Violin Concerto 31′ Listen on Spotify
Brahms: Symphony No. 4 40′ Listen on Spotify Watch on YouTube

Valeriy Sokolov’s encore – Bach:  Sarabande – Partita No 2 in D Minor

Brahms’s   Fourth Symphony begins with a sigh – and ends with a tempest. It might have   been his last symphony, but Brahms wasn’t going gently into the night, and Andris   Nelsons will bring everything he has to a musical tragedy of Shakespearean power.   It’s a long journey from the serene beauty of Wagner’s Lohengrin Prelude,   but with Valeriy Sokolov as the soloist in Sibelius’s lyrical Violin Concerto,   there’ll be no shortage of drama along the way.

“Valeriy Sokolov’s debut performance with the CBSO was  really special – don’t miss his return for Sibelius!” (Amy Fawcett, Viola)

If you like this concert, you might also like:

Nelsons conducts Brahms’s Third, Thursday 5thDecember

CBSO Youth Orchestra, Sunday 23rd February 2014

Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade, Thursday 1st May 2014



Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “Andris Nelsons was judicious to near-perfection. The strings had earlier shown they were on top form in a wondrously rapt Prelude to Act 1 of Wagner’s Lohengrin. In the Brahms finale they surged and carolled threatening to overwhelm the formal constraints but were held back by a hairsbreadth.

Nelsons is adept at the big sweeping moments but quieter details like Marie-Christine Zupancic’s ethereal flute lines were never allowed to be obscured. Pacing was excellent with a tender andante which never sagged and a high-stepping volatile scherzo: from first to last a really memorable performance.

The young Ukrainian violinist Valeriy Sokolov excelled in the first and last movements of Sibelius’s concerto. Warm rich playing, notes pinged in the middle, rapid double stopping that really sounded like two instruments and all the rest of the virtuoso armoury was on display.”     …

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s