Viennese New Year

Friday 7 January 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Roberto Minczuk  conductor
Chloe Hanslip  violin

Suppé: Overture to Light Cavalry 9′
Strauss: Éljen a Magyar!; Polka Schnell 3′
Strauss: Czárdás from ‘Ritter Pásmán’ 5′
Lehar: Zigeunerlieber Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Entrance March from The Gypsy Baron 3′
Lehar: Hungarian Fantasy for Violin and Orchestra 8′
Strauss: Tales from the Vienna Woods; Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Vom Donaustrande (By the Danube’s Shores Polka) op. 358 3′
Strauss: Wiener Bonbons, Op.307 10′
Strauss: Champagne Polka 4′
Kreisler: Various selections about Vienna for Violin and Orchestra tbc 10′
Strauss: Wiener Blut; Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Leichtes Blut; Polka Schnell, op.319 4′
Strauss: On the Beautiful Blue Danube; Waltzes 9′

As sweet as a slice of sachertorte, and as fizzy as champagne – it wouldn’t be New Year without Johann Strauss and the music of Vienna! There’ll be elegant waltzes, playful polkas, and a few sparkling surprises from our special guest, violinist Chloë Hanslip. So let the CBSO and conductor Roberto Minczuk whirl you back to a more
glamorous age, as we raise a glass to the start of another great year of music. Prosit!

Tchaikovsky and Philip Glass

Wed 5 May 7:30pm at Symphony Hall

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Pavel Kogan conductor
Chloë Hanslip violin

Borodin Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor*
Philip Glass Violin Concerto 30’
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5 50’

  • The Polovtsian Dances replaces the originally advertised Overture

The Moscow State Symphony Orchestra is one of Russia’s leading orchestras. At the very heart of its repertoire lies Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony – a journey from dark and brooding tragedy to an overwhelming sense of energy and fulfilment. Young British violinist Chloë Hanslip takes centre stage for the clean, pulsating lines of Philip Glass’s unforgettable Violin Concerto.

Classic FM’s Anne-Marie Minhall, says of tonight’s recommended concert: “Philip Glass is one of America’s best-known living composers. His Violin Concerto is a Classic FM favourite. The second movement in particular manages to be both haunting and moving at the same time.”

Chloe Hanslip’s Encore –

Moscow State Sympony Orchestra’s Encores – Dvorak- Slovonic Dances No 1, Glazunov- Spanish Dance from Raymonda

Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:

…”It’s not a virtuosic work but Hanslip ensured that the second movement’s slow and sinuous theme was elegant, yet erotic, while the cadenza-like duet with timpani – Glass’s nod and wink to Beethoven’s concerto perhaps – was excellent.” …