Autumn Classics

CBSO Benevolent Fund Concert



  • Dmitri Shostakovich   Festive Overture
  • Edward Elgar   Salut d’amour
  • Fritz Kreisler   Liebesleid,  and Tambourin chinois
  • Antonín Leopold Dvořák   Slavonic Dances, Op.72, No.1
  • Alexander Glazunov   The Seasons: Autumn
  • Leonard Bernstein   West Side Story: Overture
  • Robert Farnon   À la claire fontaine
  • Henryk Wieniawski   Légende, Op. 17,  and Polonaise Brillante Op. 4 No. 1
  • Camille Saint-Saëns   Danse macabre
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky   Swan Lake: Act I Finale
  • Colin Twigg   Anton and Antonio

**  Support the CBSO Benevolent Fund here  **


Autumn: season of mists and mellow fruitfulness. But it’s also the time for a right old celebration, and in this delightfully entertaining concert in aid of the CBSO Benevolent Fund, former BBC Young Musician of the Year Jennifer Pike plays some of the most mouth-watering miniature treats in the violin repertoire. And then we crack open the vodka, as Shostakovich, Glazunov and Tchaikovsky start the party, Russian style!

The CBSO Benevolent Fund is a registered friendly society, no.735F, supporting CBSO players and staff.

Review by John Gough, Midlands Music Reviews:

Click here for full review

[…]     “Shostakovich’s opening ‘Festive Overture’ went off like a rocket, with deft articulation, cracking string playing, balalaika-like pizzicatos, and a blaze of fanfares at the close.

The pace varied constantly. Elgar’s ‘Salut d’amour’ was sweet yet purposefully phrased. The orchestra was joined by golden toned violinist Jennifer Pike in two Kreisler pieces, by turns dazzling and melting, producing an audibly contented sigh from the audience at the end of ‘Liebesleid’. She returned later with two attractive and entertaining pieces by Wieniawski.” […]

Mozart’s Gran Partita


  • Thumbnail          Discover

Wednesday 26 February 2014 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Karl-Heinz Steffens  conductor

Guy Braunstein  violin

Mozart: Gran Partita (Serenade for 13 wind instruments, K.361) 49′

Listen on Spotify Watch on YouTube
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto 34′ Listen on Spotify
Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements 20′

Guy Braunstein’s encore – Kreisler – Schön Rosmarin

In   the film Amadeus, when Mozart’s arch-rival Salieri hears his Gran Partita,   he thinks he’s hearing the voice of God. Tonight, Karl-Heinz Steffens – a former   principal clarinettist of the Berlin Philharmonic itself – leads the CBSO’s   wind players to heaven. That’s just for starters, in a concert that features   a performance of Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto, and Stravinsky’s punchy wartime symphony; music of chrome   and steel, from the streets of LA. Pure sonic indulgence.

We are sorry to announce that Renaud Capucon has had to withdraw from this concert due to ill health. We are very grateful to Guy Braunstein for taking his place at short notice.

If you like this concert, you might also like:

Rachmaninov and Shostakovich, Thursday   8th May

Haydn and Mozart, Wednesday   14th May

Summer Serenade, Thursday   5th June



Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

“Built like a bricklayer and with a pugnacious playing manner to match, Guy Braunstein isn’t graceful – but his playing revealed the soul of a poet.

A late replacement for the ill Renaud Capuçon, who was to have played Glazunov, Braunstein’s performance of the Tchaikovsky violin concerto won many admirers; it eschewed outward glamour but got to the heart of the work.

In the canzonetta slow movement his violin line weaved magically together with the oboe and clarinet. His encore, Fritz Kreisler’s Schön Rosmarin was witty and slyly humorous.

The prominence of Tchaikovsky’s sensuous wind writing was no coincidence – conductor Karl-Heinz Steffens was formerly the Berlin Philharmonic’s principal clarinet.”     …



Viennese New Year

Friday 7 January 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Roberto Minczuk  conductor
Chloe Hanslip  violin

Suppé: Overture to Light Cavalry 9′
Strauss: Éljen a Magyar!; Polka Schnell 3′
Strauss: Czárdás from ‘Ritter Pásmán’ 5′
Lehar: Zigeunerlieber Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Entrance March from The Gypsy Baron 3′
Lehar: Hungarian Fantasy for Violin and Orchestra 8′
Strauss: Tales from the Vienna Woods; Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Vom Donaustrande (By the Danube’s Shores Polka) op. 358 3′
Strauss: Wiener Bonbons, Op.307 10′
Strauss: Champagne Polka 4′
Kreisler: Various selections about Vienna for Violin and Orchestra tbc 10′
Strauss: Wiener Blut; Waltzes 8′
Strauss: Leichtes Blut; Polka Schnell, op.319 4′
Strauss: On the Beautiful Blue Danube; Waltzes 9′

As sweet as a slice of sachertorte, and as fizzy as champagne – it wouldn’t be New Year without Johann Strauss and the music of Vienna! There’ll be elegant waltzes, playful polkas, and a few sparkling surprises from our special guest, violinist Chloë Hanslip. So let the CBSO and conductor Roberto Minczuk whirl you back to a more
glamorous age, as we raise a glass to the start of another great year of music. Prosit!