Trifonov Plays Tchaikovsky

23rd May 2013 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra 

Mario Venzago  conductor

Daniil Trifonov  piano

Mozart: Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter) 26′

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 33′

Schumann: Symphony No. 4 29′ Watch on YouTube

Daniil Trifonov’s encore – Schumann / Liszt – Widmung

The Orchestra throws down the challenge; the piano strides forward; and on a great wave of melody, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto surges into life. The greatest of all Romantic piano concertos? One thing’s for sure: Tchaikovsky Competition winner Daniil Trifonov plays it like no-one on earth. We’re thrilled to welcome him to Birmingham, as the star of a concert that begins with Mozart’s ever-astonishing final symphony and ends with Schumann at his headlong, heartfelt best. Sheer emotion.