Dvořák’s Sixth

Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Wednesday 14th October, 2.15pm

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra


  • Mozart Idomeneo – Ballet Music, 10′
  • Nielsen  Violin Concerto, 35′
  • Dvořák  Symphony No. 6, 41′
Pekka Kuusisto’s encore – Aulis Sallinen – Cadenza
Love Dvořák’s symphony from the New World? Now discover his symphony from the old one! Dvořák’s Sixth is musical sunshine: from pastoral opening to jubilant finish, it’s 45 joyous minutes of folkdances, lullabies and autumn sunsets – perfect for the youthful energy of conductor Nicholas Collon, just as Nielsen’s tuneful Violin Concerto could have been written for our soloist Pekka Kuusisto. Mozart’s Idomeneo ballet launches the evening in majestic style.
Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:
Click here for full review

“Good to hear Dvorak’s sixth symphony, the equal of his last three in all but fame, especially when performed with such a winning mixture of tender lyricism, rhythmic vigour and bravado. With the CBSO brass and Elspeth Dutch’s outstanding horn section in full cry the finale powered away like a ship in full steam down the Vltava.The conductor Nicholas Collon’s pacing of the opening allegro was spot on and while the dynamic scherzo, with its cross-cutting rhythms, was exuberant Collon allowed the wind section to give full play to the trio’s Bohemian melodies.

They impressed again at the opening of the adagio which sounded like one of Mozart’s magical wind serenades.”     …


Bach to the Future

30 November 2013 at 7.00pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra 

Pekka  Kuusisto   director / violin

Reich: Triple Quartet 15′

Bach: Violin Concerto in E major 17′

Reich: Violin Phase 15′ Listen on Spotify
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 12′

Adams: Shaker Loops 28′

Vibrant, colourful, and   buzzing with energy: the American minimalist music of John Adams and Steve Reich   has swept through contemporary culture like a blast of pure oxygen. But there’s   nothing minimalist about its emotional power, and in this life-affirming programme   directed by the inspirational Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto, it’s the perfect   complement to two of Bach’s most tuneful masterpieces. Three masters speak to   each other across three centuries: this is music to refresh heart and soul in   equal measure.

Due to the popularity of the Birmingham Christmas Market please allow ample time for your journey to Symphony Hall.

Pop up performance: The CBSO’s Leo Quartet performed Steve Reich’s   Different Trains

If you like this concert, you might also like:

Mozart’s Gran Partita, Wednesday 26th February

Summer Serenade, Thursday 5th June

Thomas Adès: New Horizons, Wednesday 11th June



Review by David Hart, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “The director/soloist was Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto, whose disarming charm and informality (including busking Scandinavian folk dances during platform rearrangements) was clearly a hit with the audience. His Bach interpretations were just as quirkily individual, tonally unforced and even pallid at times, with some phrases allowed to almost disappear into inaudibility – though in full flow he resorted to some very scratchy articulation, which the supportive, small CBSO string group led by Laurence Jackson wisely did not emulate.”     …