Dracula: The Music and Film

Original music by Philip Glass
Performed by Philip Glass and Kronos Quartet (Michael Riesman conductor) to the Universal Pictures 1931 film classic Dracula, starring Bela Lugosi.

Philip Glass keyboards
Kronos Quartet
Michael Riesman conductor

Dracula (film screening, Certificate PG)

The performance lasts approximately 1 hour 20 minutes with no interval.

Cinema’s most beguiling bloodsucker appears in a new light as Philip Glass’s revelatory score blows the cobwebs off the iconic 1930s movie Dracula. It’s a unique opportunity to witness one of the world’s most famous composers in action: Glass himself shares the stage with the internationally renowned Kronos Quartet, and his hypnotic music provides an eerie counterpart to the strange suspense of this creepy classic.

‘A night to remember… bewitching and hypnotic.’ Toronto Globe and Mail

Free post-concert performance by BiLE (Birmingham Laptop Ensemble) in the Symphony Hall Cafe Bar:
Seven laptops, one voice – a live blend of electronic music, improvisation, live sampling, visuals and laptop performance.
Supported by BEAST


Review by Diane Parkes, BehindTheArras:

Click here for full review

…    “Glass’s forms which repeat and yet develop are ideal for building the tension in the film as Bela closes in, travelling from his Transylvanian castle to England where he stalks about menacingly eyeing up potential victims.

The score perfectly complements the stylised manner of the film in which the suave Hungarian actor created a stereotype of the vampire count.”     …


Review by Maggie Cotton, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “Filming was imaginative and fascinating with massive sets, plenty of swirling mists, armadillos, rats, skeletal creeping hands, inevitable coffins and beautiful young ladies confusing the disjointed tale.

Glass’s music was minimally repetitive, mostly around the same key and subtly haunting the brain.”     …

Tchaikovsky and Philip Glass

Wed 5 May 7:30pm at Symphony Hall

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Pavel Kogan conductor
Chloë Hanslip violin

Borodin Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor*
Philip Glass Violin Concerto 30’
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5 50’

  • The Polovtsian Dances replaces the originally advertised Overture

The Moscow State Symphony Orchestra is one of Russia’s leading orchestras. At the very heart of its repertoire lies Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony – a journey from dark and brooding tragedy to an overwhelming sense of energy and fulfilment. Young British violinist Chloë Hanslip takes centre stage for the clean, pulsating lines of Philip Glass’s unforgettable Violin Concerto.

Classic FM’s Anne-Marie Minhall, says of tonight’s recommended concert: “Philip Glass is one of America’s best-known living composers. His Violin Concerto is a Classic FM favourite. The second movement in particular manages to be both haunting and moving at the same time.”

Chloe Hanslip’s Encore –

Moscow State Sympony Orchestra’s Encores – Dvorak- Slovonic Dances No 1, Glazunov- Spanish Dance from Raymonda

Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:


…”It’s not a virtuosic work but Hanslip ensured that the second movement’s slow and sinuous theme was elegant, yet erotic, while the cadenza-like duet with timpani – Glass’s nod and wink to Beethoven’s concerto perhaps – was excellent.” …