Rachmaninov and Shostakovich

ThumbnailRaise the Roof

Thursday 8 May 2014 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andrés Orozco-Estrada  conductor
Simone Lamsma  violin

Ravel: Alborada del gracioso 7′
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 38′
Listen on Spotify
Watch on YouTube

Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances 37′

Simone Lamsma’s encore – Bach – Sonata 3 – Largo

Far from all he loved, Sergei Rachmaninov dreamed of another world. The result was his Symphonic Dances: half-symphony, half-ballet, all Rachmaninov. Andrés Orozco-Estrada has been a real hit with Birmingham audiences; tonight he whirls the CBSO through a vision of ghostly waltzes, life-or-death gambles, and those great, unforgettable Rachmaninov melodies – and joins star soloist Simone Lamsma in Shostakovich’s tense political thriller of a First Violin Concerto.

“I love both Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 and Symphonic Dances – come and hear some of the juiciest Cor Anglais parts in the repertoire!” (Rachael Pankhurst, Cor Anglais)




Review by Diane Parkes, BehindTheArras:

Click here for full review

…     “Simone Lamsma then took on the monumental task of Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No 1. This is a work which demands a lot from its soloist who dominates the music throughout.

In the first and third movements, the violin is hauntingly melancholic almost digging deep into the soul of the troubled composer who wrote this work while out in the cold during the Stalinist regime. But in the second and final movements the violin takes on an almost fiendish power as it soars and dives seemingly without taking a breath. This is very much a work which takes no prisoners.

Rachmaninov brought back a touch of lightness to the evening with the Symphonic Dances. His final work, it harks back to many of the ideas he had developed through a lifetime of composition and performance.”   …



Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “Simone Lamsma was soloist (we don’t need to be told she’s “glamorous”, as a London broadsheet once trilled), and brought an impassioned outpouring of line and texture to the music, Orozco-Strada (sic) and the orchestra collaborating with measured sonority. This was a committed reading of a perhaps over-rated work. Lamsma’s Bach encore was calming balm in a disturbing evening.”