Symphonic Dances II

Thursday 10 December 2009 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121-780 3333

Kristjan Järvi  conductor
Tim Garland  saxophone
Eduardo Vassallo  cello

Ginastera: Estancia 14′
Garland: Double Concerto (world premiere) 25′
Bernstein: West Side Story: Symphonic Dances 24′
Ravel: Daphnis and Chloé – Suite No. 2 18′

Dynamic conductor Kristjan Järvi brings his love of jazz and classical music together in a highly charged programme that’s intoxicated by dance rhythms. Ravel’s sensual ballet and Bernstein’s New York teen take on Romeo and Juliet are both classics of the repertoire. Ginastera’s earthy ballet is also a riot of Argentine colour, and provides an appropriate prelude to Acoustic Triangle member and leading jazz composer Tim Garland’s new concerto, composed for him and the CBSO’s cello section leader, and paying tribute to the dance rhythms of the latter’s native Argentina.

Encore – Ginastra

Review by Christopher Morley, Birmingham Post:

“…But those who stayed away from Thursday’s CBSO concert missed a wonderful display of exuberance and orchestral virtuosity under the kinetic baton of Kristjan Jarvi,  …   Riches came with the Symphonic Dances from Bernstein’s West Side Story, awash with colour, zestful in delivery, and oozing with every kind of emotion.   …”

Review by Geoff Brown, Times:

“…Järvi’s jiggling baton spurred fire and precision. Fingers clicked; the players shouted “Mambo!” Best of the best was Ravel’s second Daphnis et Chloé suite, which proceeded from daybreak to paroxysm with the atmospheric lustre and bloom of an orchestra happy on its home turf.”