Nelsons Conducts Brahms’ Fourth

  • Thumbnail     Pure Emotion

Wednesday 6 November 2013 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons  conductor

Valeriy Sokolov  violin

Wagner: Lohengrin – Prelude to Act 1 9′

Sibelius: Violin Concerto 31′ Listen on Spotify
Brahms: Symphony No. 4 40′ Listen on Spotify Watch on YouTube

Valeriy Sokolov’s encore – Bach:  Sarabande – Partita No 2 in D Minor

Brahms’s   Fourth Symphony begins with a sigh – and ends with a tempest. It might have   been his last symphony, but Brahms wasn’t going gently into the night, and Andris   Nelsons will bring everything he has to a musical tragedy of Shakespearean power.   It’s a long journey from the serene beauty of Wagner’s Lohengrin Prelude,   but with Valeriy Sokolov as the soloist in Sibelius’s lyrical Violin Concerto,   there’ll be no shortage of drama along the way.

“Valeriy Sokolov’s debut performance with the CBSO was  really special – don’t miss his return for Sibelius!” (Amy Fawcett, Viola)

If you like this concert, you might also like:

Nelsons conducts Brahms’s Third, Thursday 5thDecember

CBSO Youth Orchestra, Sunday 23rd February 2014

Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade, Thursday 1st May 2014



Review by Norman Stinchcombe, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “Andris Nelsons was judicious to near-perfection. The strings had earlier shown they were on top form in a wondrously rapt Prelude to Act 1 of Wagner’s Lohengrin. In the Brahms finale they surged and carolled threatening to overwhelm the formal constraints but were held back by a hairsbreadth.

Nelsons is adept at the big sweeping moments but quieter details like Marie-Christine Zupancic’s ethereal flute lines were never allowed to be obscured. Pacing was excellent with a tender andante which never sagged and a high-stepping volatile scherzo: from first to last a really memorable performance.

The young Ukrainian violinist Valeriy Sokolov excelled in the first and last movements of Sibelius’s concerto. Warm rich playing, notes pinged in the middle, rapid double stopping that really sounded like two instruments and all the rest of the virtuoso armoury was on display.”     …

Sunlight and Shadows

Wednesday 24 October 2012 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0603

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Edward Gardner conductor
Valeriy Sokolov violin

Smetana: The Bartered Bride – Overture 7′
Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2 36′
Dvořák: Symphony No. 7 38′

Bohemian rhapsodies: when Smetana’s overture to The Bartered Bride burst into fizzing dancing life, so did Czech music. CBSO principal guest conductor Edward Gardner directs a concert of warm sunshine and dark shadows, finishing with the symphony that may not be Dvorák’s best-known – but might just be his greatest. In between comes Bartók’s powerful Second Violin Concerto: Hungarian passion, deep feeling and ear-tingling musical fireworks, played tonight by a young soloist who’s been described as “breathtaking”.


Review by David Hart, Birmingham Post:

Click here for full review

…     “Bartok’s Violin Concerto No.2 impressed even more, although for entirely different reasons. Gardner drew such sensitivity and character from the orchestra, and so many subtleties from the kaleidoscopically transparent score (the delicacies of the Andante involving woodwind, harp and celesta were quite magical), there were times when you almost stopped listening to the soloist.

But the quietly imposing presence and dazzling technique of Valeriy Sokolov made that quite impossible. The young Ukrainian’s vibrant warmth was, as it should be in Bartok’s most melodious outpourings, tinged with elegiac poignancy, while the more virtuosic elements of the piece sparkled with agility.”     …